Baked Potato Soup – The ultimate comfort food

potatoThis is my mom’s recipe, and I don’t remember where she said she got it.

What I do know is that when she made it, she would use her biggest stock pot, and it would all be eaten up in one day, it’s that good.

She would make this on cold winter days when “the boys” – my brothers, were working outside. It’s my all time favorite potato soup I’ve ever eaten, and nobody puts it together like mom.

This my mom’s recipe cut in half, because it’s plenty for our little family.

Enjoy!

 

 

  • 5 large baked potatoes, cold.
  •             Puree 4 of them.

In 6 qt cooking pot:

  • 1 ¾ quart water, cook 4 cups chopped onions until tender. Add a shredded carrot for color if desired.
  •             Add the pureed potatoes.

Add:

  • ½ cube butter
  • 4 oz cream cheese (room temp)
  • ½ tsp garlic powder
  • ½ can canned milk
  • ½ Tblsp powered vegetable broth
  • ½ Tblsp soy sauce
  • salt/pepper to taste

    When hot, add 2 cups sour cream.
    Dice remaining potato and add to mixture

 

Makes 4 quarts.

 

One thought on “Baked Potato Soup – The ultimate comfort food

Leave a comment